Manage Users

Create a User

Required security profile permissions: Users Create

When you create new user profiles in your environment, you have the option to create new individual users or to upload multiple new user accounts at the same time. This topic provides instructions for creating single users in the Central interface. See Manage Multiple Users at Once for instructions on creating or editing multiple users at the same time.

  1. In the Admin application, click Users.

  2. Open the new user creation form in one of the following ways: 

    • If you want to create a new user with a blank form, click Create New and select Single User.
    • If you want to create a new user based on an existing user's profile, open that user's profile and click Copy.
  3. Enter the user's First Name, Last Name, Team, Security Profile, Email, Username, User Will Use (timezone), Country, and City. If the fields are available, set the password using the Password and Confirm Password fields. Fill in any optional fields you want to add to the user profile.

  4. Click Save and Continue.
  5. Set the user's Refusal Timeouts for each channel, default Dialing Pattern, and Agent Voice Threshold. If you want to, select Suppress Ringing - Personal Connection.

  6. If your environment is single-channel, set the default number of Concurrent Chats and Auto-Parked Emails. Specify whether the user can Request Contact.

  7. If your environment is enabled for Omnichannel Session Handling (OSH), set the maximum number of simultaneous contacts the user can handle per channel. If you have granular OSH settings enabled, set the Delivery Mode and Total Contact Count for the user.

  8. If you have WFO enabled and want to set up recording, enter the System Domain, System Username, and Phones.

  9. If your system settings allow it and you want this agent to use a preview version of MAX for 28 days prior to the next release, select MAX Release Preview. This feature is only available when enabled by your NICE inContact account manager. For more information, see Enable the Preview Version of MAX.
  10. If you have WFM enabled, configure the agent's notification settings.

  11. If you have NICE inContact WFO and you want to integrate with a CRM, enter the agent's CRM Username to associate it with the user.

  12. Click Save.

Edit the Custom User Fields

Required security profile permissions: External Business Unit View, Business Unit Custom Fields Edit, Users Edit.

You can use up to five custom fields in user profiles in your environment for whatever purposes you want. To more easily keep track of how you are using the custom fields, change their labels. For example, you can change the name of the Custom 1 field to Marital Status to remind yourself and other users that you want to use that custom field to record the marital status of users in your environment.

  1. In the ACD application, click ACD ConfigurationBusiness Units.

  2. Click the business unitFile format associated with Microsoft Excel; may also be expressed as .xlsx you want to modify to open it.

  3. Click the Custom Fields tab.

  4. Click Edit.
  5. Type the names of the custom fields you want to appear in user profiles in place of the defaults.

  6. Click Done.
  7. If you need to update existing user profiles with information that belongs in the custom fields, edit the user profiles individually or in bulk.

Assign Skills to a User

Required security profile permissions: Users Edit, Skills Edit

From the users feature, you can add or remove multiple skills to or from a single user at the same time. If you want to add or remove multiple users from a single skill at the same time, you must do so through the skills feature. For instructions, see Add Users to a Skill.

  1. In the Admin application, click Users.

  2. Click the user profile you want to modify to open it.

  3. Click the Skills tab.

  4. In the Add Skills table, select the checkboxes corresponding to the skills you want to add.

    The table is paginated and searchable. If you search or navigate to other pages, the checkboxes you have selected do not clear.

  5. Click Add Skills.
  6. Adjust the user's proficiency level in the new skills by clicking the drop-down in the Proficiency column and selecting the level you want to apply.

  7. When the proficiency levels for all new skills are how you want them, click Save Proficiencies.

    If you do not click Save Proficiencies before leaving the page, all skills you added to the user profile will be removed.

Change a User's Skill Proficiencies

Required security profile permissions: Users Edit

When you change proficiency levels through the users feature, you can change many or all skills assigned to a single user at the same time. If you want to change many or all users assigned to a single skill at once instead, you must do so through the skills feature. For instructions, see Add Users to a Skill.

  1. In the Admin application, click Users.

  2. Click the user profile to open it.

  3. Click the Skills tab.

  4. In the Assigned Skills click the drop-down in the Proficiency column of the skill you want to modify and select the new level you want the user to have in that skill.

  5. Click Save Proficiencies.

Reset a User's Password

Required security profile permissions: Users Edit

  1. In the Admin application, click Users.

  2. Click the user profile you want to modify to open it.

  3. Click Reset Password.

    If the security profile applied to the user has a Generate Random Passwords policy, the user receives an email containing a new random password.

  4. If the security profile applied to the user does not have a Generate Random Passwords policy, enter the new password in the both fields in the Reset Password window and click Done.

Configure a User's Access Key

Required security profile permissions: Access Key Create

  1. In the Admin application, click Users.

  2. Click the user profile you want to modify to open it.

  3. Click the Access Keys tab.

  4. Click Edit.
  5. Click Generate New Access Key.
  6. In the Access Keys table, click (Show Secret Key).
  7. Click Copy.
  8. Paste the secret key into a file and save it in a secure location. Share the key with the user.
  9. Click Done.

You can't retrieve a user's secret key after you click Done. If the user loses the secret key, generate a new access key.

Reset a User's MFA Secret

Required security profile permissions: Users Edit

Don't enable MFA for the master administrator in your organization. If the device or secret is lost, the only way to reset the MFA secret is to file a ticket with NICE inContact.

  1. In the Admin application, click Users.

  2. Click the user profile you want to modify to open it.

  3. Click Clear MFA Secret.