Set Life Cycle Management Rules

Required security profile permissions: Life Cycle Management Edit

Life Cycle Management rules let you determine how long recordings remain in active storage, whether they are moved or copied to long-term storage, and how long they remain in long-term storage. If you use secure external access (SEA), you must configure any move or copy action to occur while the recording is still in active storage. For example, if you configure recordings to be kept in active storage for 30 days, you can't move or copy them on day 31.

If you change a rule, that rule is applied retroactively as long as the call remains in active storage. For example, if you configured recordings to archive after 60 days, and later change that to 30 days, CXone will archive any calls older than 30 days. However, if you configured recordings to archive after 30 days, and later change that to 60 days, CXone will not apply that rule to calls already in long-term storage.

  1. In the Admin application, click Cloud StorageLife Cycle Management.
  2. Click Edit to change the current settings.
  3. For Active Storage of each type of file—call recordings, screen recordings, and chat transcripts—select an Action from the drop-down: Archive, Delete, Keep, or Move to Secure External Access. The default value is Keep.

    If you move chat transcripts to Archive, you will not be able to retrieve your archived chat transcripts due to a lack of metadata at this time.

  4. For the Active Storage of each file type where you selected Archive, Delete, or Move to Secure External Access, type the number of days to apply to the action in the After (# of Days) field. This field is view-only if you selected Keep in the previous step.
  5. If you want a copy of the recordings to move to your own SEA location, select the Copy to Secure External Access checkbox. Then, in the corresponding After (# of Days) text field, enter the number of days after the file's creation that you want it to be copied to SEA. This copy is in addition to the actions you just configured. This option is disabled if you chose Move to Secure External Access as the action.
  6. For Long-Term Storage, select an Action from each file type drop-down: Delete or Keep. The default value is Keep.

  7. For Long-Term Storage, type the number of days to apply to the action in the After (# of Days) field for each file type. This field is view-only if you selected Keep in the previous step.
  8. Click Done.